I do not create, I merely recycle

14 Oct

So. I’m going to try and write a blog. For a number of reasons:

1) Pesky Flickr wants money from me before letting me post any more pictures of my makes

2) One thing that Flickr is lacking is an opportunity for me to see what you out there in the internet are thinking – I enjoy the discussion!

3) I have a really bad track record with diaries and would like to write in a medium that encouraged me to write regularly, as I think it’s good for reflection, and for development of ideas.

The title is hackneyed from a quote I once heard, which I now can’t find the exact wording or the originator for. It said something along the lines of  ‘We cannot create, we can only recycle’. I guess some would see this as a pessimistic view of modern life, or some profound state-of-the-union address about the world’s natural resources. For me, I reckon we are only where we are in life for the grace of the struggles and victories of those before us. We can only be inspired by what has come before, and strive for a new perspective or purpose to their work. And I like making things!

If you have landed on this page, I would expect that you’ll find craft tutorials or recent makes, successful (or dramatically unsuccessful) recipes that I’ve tried, or general musings on the world as I see it. However, it’s early days…it could end up being nothing more than a running commentary on my unfinished apartment and my steady descent into becoming one of those old women with 14 cats, that lives for X Factor on a Saturday night. Oh God, I’m not even sure I want to continue if that’s one of the possible outcomes!

If you like the stuff I’ve made, please also check out my Flickr page, it ends where this blog begins – although I will be referring back to it at certain points, I’m sure. Let me know what you think

Leave a Reply

PHMMcr

Goings on at the People's History Museum, Manchester

Never Too Experienced

The lifestyle scrapbook of an honest lady who will always have something to learn.

Rockstar Dinosaur Pirate Princess

Tea, Dinosaurs and Feminism.

NUT in SPTA and Delta Academies

A site for NUT members in SPTA/Delta schools

NUT Area 3

Organising & campaigning news & casework updates from the NUT Yorkshire Midland Region (Area 3)

ginjointjen

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

PEEKO CRAFTS

Ramblings of an Irish knitter and yarn addict

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Lattes & Llamas

we live for wool and bleed espresso

