Bedroom Update #2

20 Nov

When I moved house, I didn’t really have very much furniture – as with most new movers, the first few months is taken up begging, stealing and borrowing second hand stuff, or spending a small fortune in Ikea, or in my case, both.

DSCN0607

One of the items which solved my storage needs in my bedroom was an old sideboard, which I spotted in the YMCA charity shop in town on my lunch break one day. It was in fairly good working order but was in need of a bit of an update. Twenty quid, with delivery thrown in, was in my eyes, a bargain. It also has legs, which were removed for delivery.

I took the doors off, sanded and scrubbed it, and gave it a lick of paint to cheer it up – my bedroom is red and the previous owners very kindly left the remaining paint in the flat for me when they moved, so that came in handy here. One observation I’ve had: there are certainly easier things in life than trying to paint furniture on a tiny first floor balcony. However, it is possible!

Last Christmas I received an absolutely gorgeous weekly calendar of Gil Elvgren‘s pin-up girls paintings. I saved all 52 of the pictures and have been looking to use them in a project. I decided to decoupage the interiors of the cupboards and drawers on the sideboard – sort  of like a secret surprise when you look inside.

I’d not decoupaged furniture before (the only thing I’d done was a little papier mache fish that came in a kit) so there are a few things I’d do differently next time – as you can see, there are a fair few creases! However, I’m really happy that I’ve been able to put the fabulous pics to a permanent use. Also, it should encourage me to keep the contents of the cupboards tidy….perhaps.

I ran out of pictures before I could decoupage the interiors of the drawers and the doors! Never fear, I ordered myself the 2013 Gil Elvgren calendar, and am currently collecting pictures once again. By my calculations, I’ll have enough to complete the job by the end of May….stay tuned!

2 Responses to “Bedroom Update #2”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Novice’s Musings on Upholstery – or how an old plush bench got me in a grump. « Welcome to my blog - 02/10/2013

    […] this will one day be bedroom update #4 (after 1, 2 and […]

    Like

  2. Bedroom Update #2, Part 2 | Welcome to my blog - 08/26/2013

    […] you may remember me posting about a sideboard which I picked up from the local YMCA for twenty quid, with a view to updating it for my bedroom. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

PHMMcr

Goings on at the People's History Museum, Manchester

Never Too Experienced

The lifestyle scrapbook of an honest lady who will always have something to learn.

Rockstar Dinosaur Pirate Princess

Tea, Dinosaurs and Feminism.

NUT in SPTA and Delta Academies

A site for NUT members in SPTA/Delta schools

NUT Area 3

Organising & campaigning news & casework updates from the NUT Yorkshire Midland Region (Area 3)

ginjointjen

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

PEEKO CRAFTS

Ramblings of an Irish knitter and yarn addict

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Lattes & Llamas

we live for wool and bleed espresso

