Souvenir Time

20 Dec

I went to Venice recently. It was boss.

Anyway, I’m trying not to spend money on souvenirs that end up cluttering up my lil appartment. If I want a souvenir, it has to be materials so I can make something. Let’s see if I can keep this resolution up!!

DSCN0854

So whilst I was in Venice, I picked up a cheap Venetian mask of Scaramuccia (I think) – I spent all holiday calling the mask il Dottore but I think that’s a different one. I’m sure someone will be able to enlighten me! I also bought an Italian newspaper – the only one I’d heard of at the newsagents was Corriere della Sera so I bought that one rather than try out my ropey Italian on the vendor.
DSCN0853

When I got home, I did a little bit of decoupage to get over the disappointment of the holiday being over and having to go back to work. I stuck a few strips of red and green tissue paper in too, as they are the colours of il tricolore. Old scarface is now up on my craft room wall! Happy days.

5 Responses to “Souvenir Time”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Crochet Progret (An introduction to crochet Pt 2) « Welcome to my blog - 02/19/2013

    […] I am going on holiday in a week’s time, so, as part of my promise to make souvenirs rather than buy them, I will allow myself to buy a new yarn over there, to add to the blanket. Which, I suppose, means […]

    Like

  2. Crochet Part 3 – Yarns across Europe! | Welcome to my blog - 03/10/2013

    […] my resolution to only buy souvenirs that can be made into something, I thought it was only fair that I stocked up […]

    Like

  3. Hamburg Crafting Adventure | Welcome to my blog - 08/04/2013

    […] I can incorporate them into a piece of artwork now that I am home. Perhaps a decoupage item like my Venice souvenir – Any ideas, […]

    Like

  4. My Berlin Souvenir Make: An Overnight Essentials Kit | Welcome to my blog - 09/10/2013

    […] I visit a new place, I like to bring home a souvenir that I can make into something useful. Sometimes this takes the form of local ingredients for […]

    Like

  5. Souvenir Makes no. 1: Cushion Covers | Welcome to my blog - 10/31/2014

    […] Eiffel towers and personalised sticks of Blackpool rock. It’s a rule I managed to stick to in Venice, Berlin and Reykjavik! When I visited the Highlands and Islands of Scotland earlier in the year, I […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

PHMMcr

Goings on at the People's History Museum, Manchester

Never Too Experienced

The lifestyle scrapbook of an honest lady who will always have something to learn.

Rockstar Dinosaur Pirate Princess

Tea, Dinosaurs and Feminism.

NUT in SPTA and Delta Academies

A site for NUT members in SPTA/Delta schools

NUT Area 3

Organising & campaigning news & casework updates from the NUT Yorkshire Midland Region (Area 3)

ginjointjen

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

PEEKO CRAFTS

Ramblings of an Irish knitter and yarn addict

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Lattes & Llamas

we live for wool and bleed espresso

