An introduction to crochet

6 Feb

I like crochet, I really do…the problem is, my skills are rather limited! I only know one stitch really, so everything I’ve ever made has looked pretty much the same (see a few examples here, here, here and here).

I realised things would have to change after I finished my new hat, snood and gloves for a ski trip I’m going on in a few weeks – more double crochet!! In an attempt to make this set look different, I ended up decorating them with arrows made out of shrinky dinks (2 arrows pointing in the same direction means protection in native american symbolism, and I struggle not to fall over even when it’s not icy, so I think I’ll need it)

DSCN1014

 

So, in an effort to improve my crochetery (a real word?) I have decided to try to learn some new stitches. I’ve had a real mental block on following patterns for years, and had convinced myself that I’d never be able to do it. I couldn’t even manage a granny square until I read somewhere that the US ‘double crochet’ is the equivalent of the UK’s treble crochet – no wonder I was finding it so hard to follow online tutorials! However, I got a copy of Crochet Workshop by Erika Knight, and she has such a good way of explaining things that I think I’ve finally managed to get over my pattern phobia and have actually learned a few things! I would highly recommend this book.

Crochet Workshop by Erika KnightCarlymau's blog - granny square

My first granny square. Thanks Erika!

Given my track record with crochet (and with most crafts, if I’m honest), I thought it would be a good idea to limit the amount I was allowed to do of each stitch, before starting on another. It’s too easy to learn to do one thing and then to stick with it, rather than learn something else new. I didn’t want to look back in 5 years time and discover that everything I had made was now in 2 stitches, rather than one!  Therefore, I have decided to limit myself to a six inch square of each pattern, in each colour.

I’ve got a ton (figuratively) of half-finished and unused yarn in the house, which will do for this project.

So far, as well as the granny square, I’ve managed

1) Treble crochet – I thought I should probably start off easy!

Carlymau's blog - treble crochet

2) Basketweave – actually, I told a bit of a fib, I could do this one too. Only because it’s just double crochets, done either into the front of the stitch or back of the stitch, throughout. I think it looks really effective!

Carlymau's blog - Basketweave crochet

3. Alternating clusters – this wasn’t as hard as I expected and turned out quite well I think!

Carlymau's blog - alternating clusters crochet

 

4. Lacy puff – this is from Erika Knight’s book and on first reading, looked like something I would never be able to do in a million years. However, I took a deep breath, trusted Erika’s instructions, and managed it. I was so happy with it that I made it in a few more colours!

Carlymau's Blog -lacy puff stich crochet

 

5. Rope stitch – another from the Crochet Workshop book – easy, and lovely and soft

Carlymau's blog - rope stitich crochet

6. French Square – I saw this in another Erika Knight book I picked up from the library, called Crochet Stitch Motifs. I think I’ll be perusing this book some more!

Carlymau's blog - Erika Knight's French Square

7. Fan and V Stitch – This was from Basic Crochet Stitches, another Erika Knight one from the library. I was getting a bit ahead of myself at this point and was a little over confident. I found this one a real struggle! I have managed a second square of it, just to prove to myself that I can do it, but I can’t say it was easy. However, it’s so pretty that I think I should persevere and try to master it.

Carlymau's blog - fan and v stitch crochet

8. Soft Bobble – This was fairly straightforward and feels lovely to the touch.

Carlymau's blog - soft bobble crochet

I’ve done a few of them in multiple colours, meaning I now have 25 squares! Now, I must try to stay motivated and learn some more, as well as get a bit better at the ones I’ve already learned. I will update the blog with my progress!

8 Responses to “An introduction to crochet”

  1. crochetwithpassion 02/09/2013 at 16:30 #

    Hi, You are doing a great job. From the pictures I can tell your tension and stitches looks very even. You have more skill then your realize. Have you ever consider doing dish clothes. They come in a losts of different patterns, they are small projects that will teach you varitey of stitiches. They also make up quick and are nice last minute gifts for people.
    In my experience it is a great way to learn new stitches.
    One year for Christmas I rolled each dish cloth into a rose, inserted a stick and wrapped tissue paper around it and give them out as roses to my friends. They are loved them.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. carlymau 02/09/2013 at 18:13 #

    Thanks for your kind comments! Yes I would like to have a go at making larger sample sizes, is it best to do them in a cotton yarn?
    That’s a good gift idea!

    Like

    • crochetwithpassion 02/09/2013 at 19:08 #

      Sugar n Cream cotton yarn is what most people use; but any cotton yarn would work.

      Like

      • carlymau 02/09/2013 at 19:56 #

        thanks! I’ll get hold of some and give it a shot!

        Like

  3. quintessentialcrafts 02/10/2013 at 16:45 #

    I too have just kind of gotten over that hurdle of looking at a pattern and running in the opposite direction. And though there are many many great tutorials online, I was also mostly helped by a book I found at my mom’s (which makes me think I should put it on QC as suggested reading for beginners).
    Your squares look pretty awesome, besides dish cloths you could also think about turning them into trivets or coasters. Have fun! Stay confident!

    Like

    • carlymau 02/10/2013 at 22:29 #

      Thanks for the encouragement – I’m making good progress! I’ll get an update online soon I hope! :)

      Like

  4. ukcitycrafter 02/20/2013 at 17:27 #

    Really like the look of some of those stitches you’ve been learning, the lacy puff and soft bobble look nice and textural.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Crochet Progret (An introduction to crochet Pt 2) « Welcome to my blog - 02/19/2013

    […] for all the comments and words of encouragement for my last crochet post! It’s really spurred me on to learn some more. My quest to master (well, manage) some more […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

PHMMcr

Goings on at the People's History Museum, Manchester

Never Too Experienced

The lifestyle scrapbook of an honest lady who will always have something to learn.

Rockstar Dinosaur Pirate Princess

Tea, Dinosaurs and Feminism.

NUT in SPTA and Delta Academies

A site for NUT members in SPTA/Delta schools

NUT Area 3

Organising & campaigning news & casework updates from the NUT Yorkshire Midland Region (Area 3)

ginjointjen

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

PEEKO CRAFTS

Ramblings of an Irish knitter and yarn addict

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Lattes & Llamas

we live for wool and bleed espresso

