Mothering Sunday Cards

6 Mar

Untitled

As my UK friends will know, we are approaching Mothers’ Day, which is the special Sunday where we say, “Mum, you are the best!” in as many lovely ways as we can think of.

My family are scattered extensively across the British Isles, so unfortunately I don’t get chance to see them all in one go. Therefore, I am off to visit my Mum this Sunday, which I am looking forward to, and I should hopefully see my Nana (she’s a Mum too!) the following weekend.

In the meantime, I’ve made some Mothers’ Day cards, which I thought I would share with you in case you are also making cards this week!DSCN1514

I’ve looked high and low for some instructions for crochet hearts that I could actually follow, as every time I’ve tried, the results have looked rather more like a biological heart than a stylised one! Finally, I was lucky enough to discover the wonderful Cornflower Blue Studio blog, which has a very easy-to-follow instruction for the hearts. Thanks to Rachel at Cornflower!

For all you traditionalists out there, yes, my Nana is going to have kittens that I wrote ‘Happy Mothers’ Day’ on the card, rather than ‘Happy Mothering Sunday’. I only remembered after I’d written it – eek! I made amends by writing ‘Mothering Sunday’ on the inside though, so hopefully that will balance out.

One Response to “Mothering Sunday Cards”

  1. diaryofamadmama 03/07/2013 at 04:34 #

    Awesome! Will have to try this out. Thanks for sharing.
    ~Jen

    Like

Leave a Reply

PHMMcr

Goings on at the People's History Museum, Manchester

Never Too Experienced

The lifestyle scrapbook of an honest lady who will always have something to learn.

Rockstar Dinosaur Pirate Princess

Tea, Dinosaurs and Feminism.

NUT in SPTA and Delta Academies

A site for NUT members in SPTA/Delta schools

NUT Area 3

Organising & campaigning news & casework updates from the NUT Yorkshire Midland Region (Area 3)

ginjointjen

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

PEEKO CRAFTS

Ramblings of an Irish knitter and yarn addict

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Lattes & Llamas

we live for wool and bleed espresso

