My final crochet squares – the end is in sight!

26 Mar

I have been making good progress with getting more squares done for my crochet blanket. Originally I had been planning to make between 60 and 80, depending on the pattern, but now that I have a big green centrepiece, the pattern seems to have been set!

DSCN1447

In total I’m going to need 60 squares plus the big green square in order to make am 8×8 square blanket – I’m very nearly there!

Ok so let’s get started:

23. Blackberry Patch. How cute is this?! I love the bobbles, and it was pretty easy too! I thought this one would be good for experimenting with the textured yarn too.

DSCN1506

24. Wheatsheaf. I enjoyed crocheting this one. As you will possibly spot, I have been fortunate to find one more ball of blue-ish yarn at the back of the cupboard, which might just get me to the end of the blanket. I quite like the use of the new yarn on this one, as it is flecked with pinks and peaches, which seem to travel in waves up the square.

DSCN1504

25. Broomstick lace. I’ve seen this one all over Pinterest and I never thought I’d be able to manage it….but I did! Woop! Ok, so it doesn’t look nearly as impressive as most of the examples I’ve seen, but nevertheless, I’m pleased with it. I understood the technique of leaving loose loops of yarn, then grouping them for the second row of stitches, so hopefully I could try this stitch again in the future.

DSCN1418

26. Little Pyramid stitch. This was one of those classic stitches where you are convinced it’s going wrong the whole time, and suddenly it’s finished and it’s worked! Yay! Love it.

DSCN1417

27. Zig Zag Double String Network. It’s a bit flimsy but I guess it worked!

DSCN1411

28. FINAL STITCH! Basket Stitch. I can’t believe this will be the last one! It sort of makes me want to make a bigger blanket so that I can try out some more!

DSCN1410

Well, anyway this gives me a total of 61 squares, which means I can finally get started on piecing them together. I’ve enjoyed learning the stitches so much that I’m going to try to incorporate more new stitches in the piecing and border of the blanket. Yay!

One Response to “My final crochet squares – the end is in sight!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Crochet Update – not long to go! | Welcome to my blog - 04/23/2013

    […] was really hoping to have finished my blanket before the weather warmed up at least! Unfortunately I don’t seem to have achieved this goal […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

PHMMcr

Goings on at the People's History Museum, Manchester

Never Too Experienced

The lifestyle scrapbook of an honest lady who will always have something to learn.

Rockstar Dinosaur Pirate Princess

Tea, Dinosaurs and Feminism.

NUT in SPTA and Delta Academies

A site for NUT members in SPTA/Delta schools

NUT Area 3

Organising & campaigning news & casework updates from the NUT Yorkshire Midland Region (Area 3)

ginjointjen

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

PEEKO CRAFTS

Ramblings of an Irish knitter and yarn addict

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Lattes & Llamas

we live for wool and bleed espresso

