Pretty Primitive Pottery

14 Apr

Pottery make #2. A coil pot for my cactus friend.

We learned to make coil pots, and as you can see from mine, I haven’t really mastered the technique yet! Uneven walls, uneven edge, heck I didn’t even manage to smoothe the clay out neatly!

As soon as it came out of the kiln I was ready to bin it, but Colin, our tutor, said that I should at least use it as painting experience. I love all things Native American, so I decorated it with a Thunderbird, arrows and various icons. Two arrows pointing in the same direction means ‘protection’ and two crossed arrows supposedly means ‘friendship’.

I suppose the style lends itself to the shape of the pot….I just hope I get better at both the sculpting and painting execution as I continue!

My mum brought me a real miniature Saguaro cactus from her travels in Arizona, and he seems quite happy in his new home.

As with most of my makes which seem to be doomed during the crafting process, I’ve come to quite like this pot now that it is finished! It was certainly great fun to make and every time I look at it, I am reminded of how much I am enjoying the course.

I guess the lesson that I am learning from pottery is ‘walk before you run’ or I suppose, in my case, ‘crawl before you walk’. If I keep projects simple, I’m more likely to have success! Onwards and upwards….

3 Responses to “Pretty Primitive Pottery”

  1. knittedfog 04/18/2013 at 06:55 #

    Greetings from Yorkshire! thanks for reading and liking the feminist coffee post, it was a reblog to begin with, I’ll pass the info along.
    Amanda

    Like

    • carlymau 04/18/2013 at 09:23 #

      I am also in Yorkshire! Best place on Earth. Thanks for passing my comments on, I’m really enjoying reading your blog!

      Like

Leave a Reply

PHMMcr

Goings on at the People's History Museum, Manchester

Never Too Experienced

The lifestyle scrapbook of an honest lady who will always have something to learn.

Rockstar Dinosaur Pirate Princess

Tea, Dinosaurs and Feminism.

NUT in SPTA and Delta Academies

A site for NUT members in SPTA/Delta schools

NUT Area 3

Organising & campaigning news & casework updates from the NUT Yorkshire Midland Region (Area 3)

ginjointjen

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

PEEKO CRAFTS

Ramblings of an Irish knitter and yarn addict

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Lattes & Llamas

we live for wool and bleed espresso

