Citrus Surprise Cupcakes.

18 Apr

I had a go at making LJEBurms’ fabulous Citrus Surprise cupcakes this week, to rave reviews in my office. Naturally, I took all the credit, but for those of you out there in blogland, I thought I would pass on the fantastic recipe and direct you to a great blog. Pictures of my attempts are below!

DSCN1564

LJEBurms

Can I call myself a domestic goddess after knocking up some vanilla cupcakes without an outing to the shops?…If so, I promise to wear the title with pride after throwing together these bad-boys on a whim:

After investing the time in making a couple of Key Lime Pies earlier in the week I had some left over home-made lime and lemon curd, which I have been indulging in at every opportunity – breakfast, lunch and tea!  In a moment of adventure I decided to put a curd surprise in vanilla cupcakes to spread the zesty-love. The zesty-love was well received and the whole batch (delivered to 5 mouths around Manchester) failed to last more than 24 hours!

1. I used a Hummingbird recipe and for once followed it to the letter (well, almost).

2. Once cooked and fully cooled I cut a well into each cupcake and added a generous teaspoon of curd before replacing the removed sponge (as you can see…

View original post 224 more words

4 Responses to “Citrus Surprise Cupcakes.”

  1. ljeburms 04/21/2013 at 18:24 #

    Woo! I’m so glad the recipe went to plan…and they did taste lovely, love your twist of swapping out curd for jam : ) x

    Like

  2. gonerustic 05/16/2013 at 21:09 #

    Your cupcakes look beautiful – checking the recipe out now! =D

    Like

    • gonerustic 05/16/2013 at 21:12 #

      Oops – I realize it was on this post already, just hidden because I got the shortened version! Love the idea of the citrus burst of flavour as a surprise …

      Like

  3. carlymau 05/16/2013 at 21:42 #

    This has pretty much become the only baking recipe that I can do that works every time…always delicious!

    Like

Leave a Reply

PHMMcr

Goings on at the People's History Museum, Manchester

Never Too Experienced

The lifestyle scrapbook of an honest lady who will always have something to learn.

Rockstar Dinosaur Pirate Princess

Tea, Dinosaurs and Feminism.

NUT in SPTA and Delta Academies

A site for NUT members in SPTA/Delta schools

NUT Area 3

Organising & campaigning news & casework updates from the NUT Yorkshire Midland Region (Area 3)

ginjointjen

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

PEEKO CRAFTS

Ramblings of an Irish knitter and yarn addict

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Lattes & Llamas

we live for wool and bleed espresso

