Crochet Update – not long to go!

23 Apr

I was really hoping to have finished my blanket before the weather warmed up at least! Unfortunately I don’t seem to have achieved this goal – I’m nearly there though.

I have been piecing all of my assorted squares together, and fixing them into various panels and outlining with a row of dc followed by a row of trebles, to give the final blanket a bit more strength and stability.

 DSCN1471

I wish I had known how tedious assembling all of the squares would be – maybe I would have done bigger squares! As you can see though, the end truly is in sight. Once I finished strengthening the final panel (bottom left), I have then started to hook the panels together and begin on a border. I have been taking my time on this, as I find that once a project is completed, I can never view it without recalling all the emotions of making it. I don’t want to look back on this journey into crochet and only remember the frustration of sticking it all together, so I’m getting through the assembly, bit by bit, making sure I enjoy it along the way.

DSCN1494

I must admit, once I have started hooking the bigger panels together, I have begun to feel so proud of my progress! All the weeks of work have seemed to take shape in a matter of minutes. I’ve become really excited to get it finished now! And then I suppose I will need to get started on a border, although I’ve not made any decisions on how that will look yet.

I’ll be happy as long as it’s done by Autumn! I will keep you posted…

Leave a Reply

PHMMcr

Goings on at the People's History Museum, Manchester

Never Too Experienced

The lifestyle scrapbook of an honest lady who will always have something to learn.

Rockstar Dinosaur Pirate Princess

Tea, Dinosaurs and Feminism.

NUT in SPTA and Delta Academies

A site for NUT members in SPTA/Delta schools

NUT Area 3

Organising & campaigning news & casework updates from the NUT Yorkshire Midland Region (Area 3)

ginjointjen

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

PEEKO CRAFTS

Ramblings of an Irish knitter and yarn addict

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Lattes & Llamas

we live for wool and bleed espresso

