Daddy’s Day Designs

18 Jul

After making cards for my Mum and Nana for Mothers’ Day, I couldn’t miss making something for Fathers’ Day.

My dad is a scuba diver in his free time, and last year, for my birthday, my Dad took me diving, which was quite an experience. I’d definitely try it again, but I think I’d prefer warmer water (rather than a quarry in the Lake District in the middle of October).

110710_0411

One of Dad’s favourite activities is travelling to the Red Sea to go swimming with sharks. Personally, I’d give it a miss, but he seems to enjoy it!  Last year was his first trip to the Red Sea, during which time he was lucky enough to meet these guys:


          KD7  KD8

What I still can’t believe about diving is how heavy all of the kit is! His shed at home is packed to the rafters with a variety of wet and dry suits, in different weights for different water temperatures, goggles, canisters and breathing equipment, flippers and gloves, and weights to put round your waist to pull you down in the water! In my opinion, this goes against all logic on how to spend your free time! However, it keeps him happy.

Dad was shark diving again over Fathers’ Day this year, so I made him a sign for his shed door, by rolling out a slab of clay and painting it in underglazes. You can’t quite see from the picture, but I textured the surface of the clay by pressing fine, gauzy material onto the sign in the middle. The idea was to make it look like ship’s netting. As it was underglazed, my tutor, Colin (pictured) dipped the finished item in transparent glaze before firing, to set the colours.

 

Happy Fathers’ Day, Daddy!

Leave a Reply

PHMMcr

Goings on at the People's History Museum, Manchester

Never Too Experienced

The lifestyle scrapbook of an honest lady who will always have something to learn.

Rockstar Dinosaur Pirate Princess

Tea, Dinosaurs and Feminism.

NUT in SPTA and Delta Academies

A site for NUT members in SPTA/Delta schools

NUT Area 3

Organising & campaigning news & casework updates from the NUT Yorkshire Midland Region (Area 3)

ginjointjen

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

PEEKO CRAFTS

Ramblings of an Irish knitter and yarn addict

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Lattes & Llamas

we live for wool and bleed espresso

