Dusty is gone, Goldie is born! A novice’s musings on upholstery pt 3

23 Jul

I realise I haven’t updated you recently on the progress of Dusty, my tired bench which had seen better days. Well, I have made some progress, although she isn’t finished!

I eventually removed the last tack and the final staple, and was able to get on with sanding and painting the frame. I sanded old Dusty down and then washed her with soapy water, before giving the entire frame two coats of white satin emulsion. Once the paintwork had dried, I began distressing it. I didn’t want to distress it too excessively – it’s bound to get scratched and bumped in this flat anyway! I used light sandpaper on the edges of the curves on the arms, and used a butter knife to scrape lines into the engravings on the front and back. Once this was done, I lightly cleaned the paintwork, to ensure no fragments of chipped paint remained, and finished the paint job with 2 coats of clear varnish.

Believe it or not, but I’ve also finished patching all the lovely materials together! Well, I certainly surprised myself – I was becoming the Mistress of Procrastination over this project. I was able to use the old fabric as a template, and have begun stapling the new cover onto the frame.

DSCN1580

Yay! Goldie is born! The project is finally coming together, hurray !I’ve still got some way to go – I need to master the deep tufting on the seat back, and then I need to staple the material onto the frame, then embark on tapping the new tacks into place. I hope it doesn’t take as long as removing them!

DSCN1592

However, I have noticed that my flat is at its messiest when a project is nearly complete. So, I guess if this picture is anything to go by, I must be nearly there…

DSCN1582

2 Responses to “Dusty is gone, Goldie is born! A novice’s musings on upholstery pt 3”

  1. alexandrahindley 07/24/2013 at 20:46 #

    Oh, this is just too awesome! Beautiful piece of furnitue, I look forward to seeing it develop!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Souvenir Makes no. 1: Cushion Covers | Welcome to my blog - 10/31/2014

    […] The sofa itself is a reupholstery project-in-waiting, but after the trials and tribulations of my last upholstering attempt, I’m still psyching myself up for the challenge!  The natural, undyed yarn is some North […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

PHMMcr

Goings on at the People's History Museum, Manchester

Never Too Experienced

The lifestyle scrapbook of an honest lady who will always have something to learn.

Rockstar Dinosaur Pirate Princess

Tea, Dinosaurs and Feminism.

NUT in SPTA and Delta Academies

A site for NUT members in SPTA/Delta schools

NUT Area 3

Organising & campaigning news & casework updates from the NUT Yorkshire Midland Region (Area 3)

ginjointjen

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

PEEKO CRAFTS

Ramblings of an Irish knitter and yarn addict

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Lattes & Llamas

we live for wool and bleed espresso

