Copenhagen Crafting Adventure

28 Jul

I have just returned from a fantastic journey across Denmark and Germany. My first stop was Copenhagen, which was utterly wonderful. The sun shone the whole time, and I really enjoyed myself. A real highlight was visiting Tivoli!

Of course, no trip to Copenhagen is complete without visiting the Little Mermaid, however for me, seeing the statue on the coast was a little disappointing. The area where she is sat has become overrun with tourism, which detracts from the solitary beauty of the statue. Also, there are so many beautiful buildings, statues and sculptures in the city which far surpass den lille havfrue! In particular, I would have to say the Gefion fountain and the Valkyrie statue (both in Churchillparken, near Kastellet) were spectacular.

Copenhagen has an abundance of beautiful craft and gift shops, displaying locally made items. One main area for this was ….., where I felt my inspiration metres filling up with ideas for pottery and ceramics when I returned to the UK.

A local resident also recommended the Norrebro area to me, although I didn’t get a chance to visit there. Has anyone out there in blogland been to Copenhagen? What did you find?

I was also lucky enough to visit the Designmuseum Danmark, which was holding an exhibition on Post-War British Textiles 52-72. I spent ages looking at the different prints and reading about their history. My favourite was the Victor Vasarely print called Kernoo, which was printed for Edinburgh Weavers in 1962 (black and white, below). It was inspired by the rocks and shells seen during a trip to Belle Isle, off the coast of Brittany. It depicts a white rock, a black rock, and a third rock, which has been broken into fragments. I thought it gave a very striking effect.

 

Well anyway, onto the craft shops. Copenhagen seems like a really creative city, and there were plenty of shops for me to indulge my crafting desires in. The first I visited was Baandsalonen on Larsbjornsstraede. The owner of the store, Per, is a milliner, although he also sells ribbons, trims, buttons and other material accessories. His shop was beautiful! I couldn’t help myself when I saw some vintage woven trim depicting beautiful, multicoloured fruit. It was expensive but I couldn’t resist! Per also has an online shop at Baandsalonen.dk.

DSCN1829

Per at Baandsalonen

My next stop was Stof 2000 on Federiksborggade, near Norreport metro station. Stof 2000 is a chain which runs across Denmark. They stock both dressmaking and furnishings fabrics, as well as trims, accessories and fixings. I thought the store was good value, especially as there were large containers dotted around the store where you could pick up a bargain. I found a lovely lace collar for 10 Danish Kroner, which is approximately £1!

DSCN2052

My final craft shop stop was at Sommerfuglen on Vandkusten, a yarn shop which was conveniently right next door to my hostel! The store was very busy, and one thing which really stood out for me were the number of male crafters in there. I spotted at least 3 men choosing yarns and asking questions about specific knitting needles and crochet hooks to buy. This would be completely unheard of where I live! Sommerfuglen had beautiful Noro yarns, crewel and embroidery silks, and fantastic, hand made buttons. Their products were really high quality and it was no wonder the store was crowded. Again, Sommerfuglen has an online store, if you are interested. Copenhagen is really expensive, so unfortunately I couldn’t buy much in here! However, the store did have a basket of yarn remnants in a variety of gorgeous colours. I picked up some lilac and some sage green, to keep me busy en route to Germany.

DSCN2054

Sommerfuglen on Vandkusten

So, laden with my lovely new purchases, it is sadly time to bid Denmark farewell, as I cross the Fehmarn Belt to Germany. Onward!

5 Responses to “Copenhagen Crafting Adventure”

  1. Verónica 07/28/2013 at 18:44 #

    I love Copenhagen and posted about my visit to several yarn stores as well! Love your post.

    Like

  2. alexandrahindley 07/30/2013 at 13:51 #

    So jealous I could barf. Did you research all these places before you went, or did you just get lucky?

    Like

  3. onoodlesstitchcraft 08/05/2013 at 09:41 #

    Fab! Try Stockholm, also wonderful!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wonderful Team Member Readership Award Part 2! | ONOODLES - 08/22/2013

    […] TO MY BLOG who likes to travel but still finds time to enter the blog world too! I loved her Copenhagan Crafting Adventure because I had recently been to Stockholm and had a bit of a Nordic thing going on! Take a […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

PHMMcr

Goings on at the People's History Museum, Manchester

Never Too Experienced

The lifestyle scrapbook of an honest lady who will always have something to learn.

Rockstar Dinosaur Pirate Princess

Tea, Dinosaurs and Feminism.

NUT in SPTA and Delta Academies

A site for NUT members in SPTA/Delta schools

NUT Area 3

Organising & campaigning news & casework updates from the NUT Yorkshire Midland Region (Area 3)

ginjointjen

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

PEEKO CRAFTS

Ramblings of an Irish knitter and yarn addict

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Lattes & Llamas

we live for wool and bleed espresso

