Happy Wedding Day Jen and David!

8 Aug

My summer embroidery is finished! And just in time – a friend of mine gets hitched today and I wanted to make her something special for her big day.

The hummingbirds were sourced from Jenny Hart’s wonderful Sublime Stitching Craft Pad, but the rest was sketched freehand. The theme of Jen and David’s wedding is ‘rainbow’, so I tried to use as many colours as possible without it looking like an explosion in a thread factory.

DSCN2600

I obviously made the classic schoolgirl error (like always) of deciding to sketch straight on to the fabric with the first suitable implement I could find – which in this case was a pencil. You would think I would learn from previous mistakes, but clearly not! It was tough to get the pencil marks out of the fabric without either damaging the stitches (especially the chain stitches on the flowers) or warping the fabric. Most of the marks were around the monogramming, as I stitched, unpicked and restitched the wording at least twice, as I kept changing my mind over what colour it should be!

DSCN2591

Finally I managed to clean the material up by soaking it in a cold Woolite solution, rinsing thoroughly and laying out flat to dry. I ironed the material carefully. It took a bit of manipulation to form the flower shapes from the chain stitches again, but eventually I managed it.

The material has been stapled into the frame which hopefully will keep the fabric taut and neat-looking.

I hope the happy couple have an unforgettable day!

2 Responses to “Happy Wedding Day Jen and David!”

  1. ukcitycrafter 08/09/2013 at 15:33 #

    What a lovely gift – lucky friends :)

    Like

  2. ginjointjen 02/24/2014 at 15:58 #

    Oh I recall seeing the blog about this now!! I will have to do a blog about my decor so I can link back. This beauty has been on the wall since we got it home and is currently opposite a mirror in the living room so we can see it from either sofa :D It is just beautiful and will always be cherished all the more for being a handmade lovely x

    Like

Leave a Reply

PHMMcr

Goings on at the People's History Museum, Manchester

Never Too Experienced

The lifestyle scrapbook of an honest lady who will always have something to learn.

Rockstar Dinosaur Pirate Princess

Tea, Dinosaurs and Feminism.

NUT in SPTA and Delta Academies

A site for NUT members in SPTA/Delta schools

NUT Area 3

Organising & campaigning news & casework updates from the NUT Yorkshire Midland Region (Area 3)

ginjointjen

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

PEEKO CRAFTS

Ramblings of an Irish knitter and yarn addict

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Lattes & Llamas

we live for wool and bleed espresso

