Bedroom Update #2, Part 2

26 Aug

So, I promised this by the end of May, and now it’s August. What can I say, I’ve been a busy girl!

Anyway, you may remember me posting about a sideboard which I picked up from the local YMCA for twenty quid, with a view to updating it for my bedroom. The room is predominantly red, so I decided that the outside of the unit should match. However, I wanted the interior to be a a little more exciting…

I have been dutifully collecting the pages of my week-to-view Gil Elvgren Pin-Ups calendar all year, so finally I have enough to complete the interior decoupaging of the drawers and shelves. Decoupage is really, really easy – all you have to do is sand and clean your surface down, and once you have planned your pattern with your chosen papers, you simply paste them to the item with PVA glue. Once the glue has dried, you can strengthen the surface with 3-4 coats of clear varnish…and voila! Your item is updated and FABULOUS!

 

One thing to watch out for is puckering on the images. As the paper absorbs the glue, it expands, which leaves creases across the surface. The only way I have found to prevent the creases, is to roll the paper on carefully, making sure that it has time to expand before being fixed down entirely. I normally start on one corner and use a paintbrush to ease the rest of the image into place.

 

One of my hopes for this project, is that I will keep my drawers and cupboards tidy if they are so beautiful. So far, it’s working! I have just a few images left, so I might cover the various jewellery and toiletry boxes inside too. I’m so happy with how it turned out – a perfect piece of furniture for a boudoir – Smart and sensible from the outside, and a little bit naughty on the inside. A bit like me!

DSCN1738

3 Responses to “Bedroom Update #2, Part 2”

  1. mrsfoxfinery 08/26/2013 at 14:22 #

    Love it! It’s fab.

    Like

  2. harriet-rose 08/26/2013 at 18:46 #

    your bedroom is looking beautiful i love the red

    Like

  3. carlymau 08/27/2013 at 10:15 #

    thanks! super happy that at least one room is now finished!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

PHMMcr

Goings on at the People's History Museum, Manchester

Never Too Experienced

The lifestyle scrapbook of an honest lady who will always have something to learn.

Rockstar Dinosaur Pirate Princess

Tea, Dinosaurs and Feminism.

NUT in SPTA and Delta Academies

A site for NUT members in SPTA/Delta schools

NUT Area 3

Organising & campaigning news & casework updates from the NUT Yorkshire Midland Region (Area 3)

ginjointjen

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

PEEKO CRAFTS

Ramblings of an Irish knitter and yarn addict

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Lattes & Llamas

we live for wool and bleed espresso

