Upholstery Complete!

5 Sep

Drum roll please…..

DSCN0954

 

Let me present Dusty’s transformation into Goldie!

DSCN2645

She is finally finished! I can’t believe this has nearly taken me a year –  as one of my best friends said, she managed to conceive and deliver a child in the time it took me to complete this project, and the baby was 2 weeks late!

DSCN2628

As this picture attests, I used individual pins rather than strip. Obviously this was considerably more time consuming, but I suppose (hope) all the more satisfying as I tapped in the last one. I found pinning the tacks much harder than I expected, but I guess it is one of those things that you improve at with practice, as I really sped up my technique as I progressed with the activity. I also recently learned that there is a spacing tool you can buy, which means you can line up 4 pins at a time and hammer them in. Perhaps I would have found that little nugget of information useful sooner!

DSCN2638

This might be a good opportunity to apologise meekly to my neighbours, who had to listen to me hammer away for an hour each evening for weeks as I endeavoured to complete the work. So, “Sorry”, although I can’t guarantee that I won’t attempt some more audible crafting project in the future!

DSCN2635

Of course, because the foam was already fixed in place when I recovered the panels, there were some areas which were ridiculously difficult to pin – endless attempts were made (and nerves lost) trying to neatly fix the seams on the far edge of the armrests and the lower edges of the backrest of the chair.

DSCN2639

Also, I’m happy enough with how the tufting turned out, although I’m sure anyone with half a skill at upholstery will see the numerous flaws in the result.   I certainly wouldn’t attempt this with such a variety of fabrics ever again – I suppose it’s lucky that I don’t plan to recover this item for at least 20 years!

DSCN2630

However, in some ways it seems fitting that I chose these materials. As I mentioned right at the start of this project, the bench was handed down to me by my Grandparents, who also happened to source me a fabulous Christmas gift last year – an entire bag full of furnishing material off-cuts from a friend of theirs. The furniture and the fabric therefore really had to go together, and I hope they are pleased with the result. Thanks N&G!

DSCN2645

The bench has been displayed in my hallway, for no other reason than that I am so proud of the piece that I want to see it from the doorway of every room.

2 Responses to “Upholstery Complete!”

  1. Martine 09/06/2013 at 20:41 #

    Superb…I like the end result! Well done,Carlyxx

    Like

  2. ukcitycrafter 09/09/2013 at 17:31 #

    I am so impressed with the transformation, well done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

PHMMcr

Goings on at the People's History Museum, Manchester

Never Too Experienced

The lifestyle scrapbook of an honest lady who will always have something to learn.

Rockstar Dinosaur Pirate Princess

Tea, Dinosaurs and Feminism.

NUT in SPTA and Delta Academies

A site for NUT members in SPTA/Delta schools

NUT Area 3

Organising & campaigning news & casework updates from the NUT Yorkshire Midland Region (Area 3)

ginjointjen

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

PEEKO CRAFTS

Ramblings of an Irish knitter and yarn addict

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Lattes & Llamas

we live for wool and bleed espresso

