Fimo night at the Ray Residence

15 Sep

My awesome and wonderful friend Charlotte, whom you may remember from such creative exploits as Birthday Bonanza and Functional Fabrications, invited me over to her lovely home last week to make polymer clay jewellery. Also in attendance was Martine, Char’s super-talented and fabulous mum.

DSCN2836

I have a little confession to make. I was pretty tired that night as I had been meeting my new future sister-in-law’s family at my brother’s engagement party. (Let me tell you, it’s gonna be crafting a-go-go for the next twelve months whilst we all prepare for Alex and Kate’s big day – I AM SO EXCITED!)

DSCN2840

I digress. I was tired out after a fantastic but busy day, so I spent most of the evening drinking hot Ribena and watching Char and Martine work their magic.

They were both super-productive! Martine made fabulous brooches that looked like peas in a pod, and Char fashioned various creatures and vegetables. Meanwhile I idled away the time making tiny twigs out of various shades of brown clay, to make into a bundle of twigs, which I then bound with a strip of lilac clay. This looked pretty for approximately 5 minutes before bits started snapping off. Hey ho.

DSCN2844

Nevermind – at least I have generous friends – not only did I get a pea brooch, but Char had also made me a terrific watermelon necklace before I arrived! Yay me!

DSCN2843This is the face of someone who is delighted to be returning with home made goods, despite having not one ounce of energy left. Note glassy, tired eyes. In this picture you are also getting a preview of my very recently completed ‘science club’ dress, which made its debut at the engagement party. Photos to follow!

Also, I must tell you that Char is easily the most fashionable person I know. You want style tips, she’s your girl. Char has just started her very own blog – check it out!!

4 Responses to “Fimo night at the Ray Residence”

  1. charlotteweare 09/16/2013 at 20:29 #

    :) Had a super super time! You can also see the Totoro you made me in the background of your dress picture :D xx

    Like

  2. Martine 09/16/2013 at 20:40 #

    We had a great time making veg and animal and cloud fimo brooches….lot of fun!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Crafty Night | darthraydar - 09/16/2013

    […] https://carlymau.wordpress.com/2013/09/15/fimo-night-at-the-ray-residence/#comment-243 […]

    Like

  2. Charlotte – Style Icon and Craft Muse | Welcome to my blog - 02/01/2015

    […] lovely and immaculately stylish friend Charlotte, who has featured in my articles on many occasions, has started writing her own fashion blog here […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

PHMMcr

Goings on at the People's History Museum, Manchester

Never Too Experienced

The lifestyle scrapbook of an honest lady who will always have something to learn.

Rockstar Dinosaur Pirate Princess

Tea, Dinosaurs and Feminism.

NUT in SPTA and Delta Academies

A site for NUT members in SPTA/Delta schools

NUT Area 3

Organising & campaigning news & casework updates from the NUT Yorkshire Midland Region (Area 3)

ginjointjen

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

PEEKO CRAFTS

Ramblings of an Irish knitter and yarn addict

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Lattes & Llamas

we live for wool and bleed espresso

