My New Snood

16 Mar

I was adventuring over the British Isles and Ireland during the Christmas break, and as well as relaxing with friends and family, I visited the Harry Potter Studios tour near London, the Titanic Experience in Belfast, the Turner Prize in Derry and the Guinness Storehouse in Dublin, amongst other things!

My faithful friend throughout my travels was my beloved plum and turquoise snood, which I made when I first learned to properly crochet a few years ago. I had used local, Yorkshire wool for it, and I never left home without it. Sadly, my snood was very fond of Dublin, and when I got on the ferry to come home, I realised it was no longer with me. I know it’s silly to get too attached to a piece of clothing, but I miss it!

P1020360

However, I guess it gives me an opportunity to get my crochet hooks out again, which can’t be a bad thing.

There’s an Ebay shop that I have used before, which I think is brilliant. It’s Kingcraig Fabrics, a yarn and textiles shop, nestled in the Highlands of Scotland, about an hour North of Inverness. They sell balls of Scottish lambswool in a variety of gorgeous colours, as well as merino, cashmere, silk and all sorts of other lovely treats. In fact, I am visiting the Scottish Highlands at Easter, and I’m planning my trip so that I can definitely call in! Kingcraig  were stocking a merino cashmere mix in a lovely, sandy brown colour called fawn fleck. I bought 400g of it so that I would have enough to make a snood and maybe some gloves or a hat to go with it.

P1020500


The book that taught me to crochet is this: Erika Knight’s Crochet Workshop. Until finding this book I was convinced that, although I could hook a few stitches together and make a crochet item, I couldn’t follow a pattern and didn’t understand how to make the more intricate stitches. As far as I’m concerned, this book is my crochet bible and I rarely start a new project without consulting it.

In the book, Erika has a pattern for an asymmetrical  cardigan, which is made up of various flower and circle motifs, worked in a super chunky yarn. I decided to produce a number of the motifs in a finer, aran yarn, and try to construct them into a scarf.

P1020552

I had a small amount of green and yellow Lopi yarn left, from my adventures in Iceland, which I thought would brighten up the design. To link them together, I used a variety of slip stitches, double crochet and chain stitches, to loosely form the shape of the snood. I wanted the edges to remain irregular, with the odd flower peeking out.P1020573

Connecting the shapes took a bit of effort, as many of the motifs had minds of their own when it came to where they wanted to position themselves! I was aware that I wanted the finished result to look like a random order of shapes, so I had to reconfigure the motifs a few times until it seemed to look right.

P1020582

I’m happy with the finished result – although it won’t be everyone’s cup of tea, it certainly appeals to me! My new make is a little ray of sunshine to brighten up this gloomy weather.

3 Responses to “My New Snood”

  1. onoodlesstitchcraft 03/17/2014 at 15:02 #

    Simply gorgeous! I have enjoyed hearing about your travels. What a shame you left behind your treasured snood!

    Like

  2. carlymau 03/17/2014 at 20:59 #

    Thanks Onoodles! Never mind, hopefully someone somewhere is snuggled up in it right now!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Souvenir Makes no. 1: Cushion Covers | Welcome to my blog - 10/31/2014

    […] sticks of Blackpool rock. It’s a rule I managed to stick to in Venice, Berlin and Reykjavik! When I visited the Highlands and Islands of Scotland earlier in the year, I brought back all sorts […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

PHMMcr

Goings on at the People's History Museum, Manchester

Never Too Experienced

The lifestyle scrapbook of an honest lady who will always have something to learn.

Rockstar Dinosaur Pirate Princess

Tea, Dinosaurs and Feminism.

NUT in SPTA and Delta Academies

A site for NUT members in SPTA/Delta schools

NUT Area 3

Organising & campaigning news & casework updates from the NUT Yorkshire Midland Region (Area 3)

ginjointjen

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

PEEKO CRAFTS

Ramblings of an Irish knitter and yarn addict

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Lattes & Llamas

we live for wool and bleed espresso

