Car Boot Loot

11 Nov

I’m sure I’m not the only one who loves a good bargain.

And, by the look of the size of the crowd at my local car boot sale last Sunday morning, I’m also not the only one who woke up criminally early that day. By 8am the place was packed!

I, for one, have an excuse. An inability to sleep forced me to decide to go for an early morning walk around the lake by my flat. The weather was perfect: cold, crisp, sunny, with mist rising from the ground. I was surprised to find so many people also enjoying the early morning sun, until I realised they were all walking around the lake, carrying bizarre items. I saw one woman with 5 or 6 shopping bags of fresh vegetables; a man carrying a Scalextric; and a couple carrying what I can only guess were curtains. Not your usual, duck-feeding crowd!

It was not long before my fuzzy, sleep-deprived brain put two and two together, and realised that there must be a car boot sale going on at the stadium behind the lake. A short walk in that direction led me to a spectacle – hundreds of stalls, offering everything from fresh cuts of meat to hair products, childrens’ clothes to vinyl records, door knockers to ukuleles.

I checked my pockets: I had one solitary tenner in my pocket, and was a 15 minute walk away from the nearest ATM. I decided that £10 was enough to bring home a bargain, so I set about searching for treasures.

DSCN4621

I have to say, I did pretty well for my ten English pounds! I picked up a variety of items, including marbles. picture hooks, cheese and vintage shot glasses. But I am most delighted with my final purchase of the day – 4 vintage embroideries.

They are, in fact, two pairs – one pair is of a Flamenco dancer with a bandolero, and the other pair is of a German? Austrian? couple in traditional dress. As soon as I saw the Spanish pair, I fell in love and knew I would need to buy them. The man on the stall was only willing to sell them as a set of four, but at a total cost of £4 (£1 each) then I decided I could stretch to that!

 

The man on the stall wasn’t able to give me any information about them, but I can just about see that the designs were printed onto the material before the embroiderer started work. They are all framed, but some of the works are sagging, so they are going to need reframing when I get a chance.

I especially love the way that the embroiderer has chosen to stitch the sky, as a series of crosses in graduated shades of blue. The finished pieces are such a wonderful, joyous riot of colour!

The other pair are lovely too,and beautifully embroidered, but I don’t think I love them quite as much as the Spanish pair. Therefore, I was wondering if anyone out there in blogland would like them? I’m happy to send them out to whoever thinks they could give them a good home.

Also, does anyone recognise these pictures or have any information about these designs? I’m sure someone out there must know something about where the patterns.

I will certainly make the effort to visit the Lakeside car boot more often – it turns out it takes place every Sunday morning from 6:30am.

In the meantime, I’m going to find the perfect place in my apartment to display this musical couple!

Leave a Reply

PHMMcr

Goings on at the People's History Museum, Manchester

Never Too Experienced

The lifestyle scrapbook of an honest lady who will always have something to learn.

Rockstar Dinosaur Pirate Princess

Tea, Dinosaurs and Feminism.

NUT in SPTA and Delta Academies

A site for NUT members in SPTA/Delta schools

NUT Area 3

Organising & campaigning news & casework updates from the NUT Yorkshire Midland Region (Area 3)

ginjointjen

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Funky Air Bear

Traditional & Modern Knits

PEEKO CRAFTS

Ramblings of an Irish knitter and yarn addict

My OBT

My daily quest for One Beautiful Thing (OBT)

Lattes & Llamas

we live for wool and bleed espresso

